Obasanjo, Abdulsalami, others absent at maiden June 12 celebration

Written by on June 12, 2019

After almost 20 years of May 29 as Democracy Day, President Muhammadu Buhari officially recognised June 12 as Democracy day in honour of the late Chief Moshood Abiola’s presumed victory in the June 12, 1993, presidential election.

Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo, Senate President Ahmad Lawan and Speaker of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila, were present at the occasion.

Though the event was also well attended by foreign leaders, none of the former heads of state or presidents was in attendance.

The past leaders include Gen. Yakubu Gowon (retd.); former interim president, Ernest Shonekan; Gen. Abdulsalami Abubakar (retd.); former President Olusegun Obasanjo; and former President Goodluck Jonathan.

Foreign leaders who were in attendance included President Paul Kagame of Rwanda, President Mohamed Ould Abdel Aziz of Mauritania, President George Weah of Liberia, President Denis Sassou Nguesso of Congo and President Nana Akufo-Addo of Ghana, President Macky Sall of Senegal, President Adama Barrow of Gambia, President Mahamadou Issoufou of Niger Republic, President José Mário Gómes Vaz of Guinea-Bissau and President Patrice Talon of Benin Republic.

Current track



%d bloggers like this: