Hurdles as Nigeria, Ghana, 4 others reject ‘Eco’ currency

Written by on January 17, 2020

The six member countries of the West African Monetary Zone (WAMZ) comprising Nigeria, Ghana, Gambia, Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone, have rejected the adoption of ‘Eco’ as the name of the proposed single currency for West Africa.

Rising from a meeting of the ministers of finance, and the governors of the Central Banks of the West African Monetary Zone on the ECOWAS single currency programme, held in Abuja on 16th jan, WAMZ rejected the adoption of Eco by mostly French speaking West African states.

In December 2019, Benin, Burkina Faso, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Mali, Niger, Senegal, and Togo announcedthey were migrating from their currency, CFA Franc to Eco.

This decision was backed byFrance even ahead of the formal adoption of the Eco as the currency of the ECOWAS member states.

The meeting was under the Chairmanship of Hon. Mamadi Camara, Minister for Economy and Finance of the Republic of Guinea. And as a consequence of this meeting, a communiqué was issued.

“WAMZ Convergence Council wishes to emphasize that thisaction is not in line with the decisions of the Authority of Heads of State and Government of ECOWAS for the adoption of the “Eco” as the name of an independent ECOWAS Single Currency

The communiqué also indicated that “WAMZ Convergence Council re-iterates the importance for all ECOWAS member countries to adhere to the decisions of the ECOWAS Authority of Heads of State and Government towards the implementation of the revised roadmap of the ECOWAS Single Currency Programme.”

“The WAMZ Convergence Council recommends that a Summit of the Authority of Heads of State and Government of the WAMZ Member States be convened soon to discuss this matter and other related issues,” it said.

Present at this Meeting, were the Ministers of Finance and the Economy and Governors of Central Banks of the member States of the West African monetary Zone

Current track



%d bloggers like this: